Programme

Programme: 2022

Please note that the programme for EBEF 2022 will follow in due course. This year we hosted EBEF online and therefore, the programme will differ depending on the location.

The majority of presentations at the Forum are delivered by experienced ethics and compliance practitioners. Breakout sessions on a range of topics are held each day, which take the form of a facilitated discussion. Forum participants are free to choose which session they would like to attend.

Please note that this is the 2021 programme and timings are subject to change for EBEF 2022.

Tuesday 02 February 2021

8:00 AM ET / 13:00 GMT/ 14:00 CET
Meet and Greet
Casual meeting for attendees to network before the event begins

8:30 AM ET / 13:30 GMT/ 14:30 CET
Welcome and Introduction
Our Forum hosts ECI will welcome participants to our first virtual EBEF.

9:00 AM ET / 14:00 GMT/ 15:00 CET
P1: Plenary Session
Building Successful Board Training Programs Under Monitorship: Is your program effective?
Led by Vincent L. DiCianni, Esq.,President – Affiliated Monitors, Inc. and Eric R. Feldman, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Corporate Ethics & Compliance Programs – Affiliated Monitors, Inc.
Increasingly, independent compliance monitors are brought in to corporations, either voluntarily or as a condition of settlement in an enforcement matter. The scope of a monitorship can be wide-reaching, ranging from reviews of specific compliance practices to oversight of board education. An effective company/monitor relationship can result in stronger internal systems to prevent and detect misconduct. – What are the qualities of an effective monitor relationship? – What does it take to become an effective monitor and earn the trust of both the regulators and the regulated? – What do monitors consider to be effective Board training programs on E&C? Hear from two highly-regarded professionals who have served as monitors to organizations in a wide variety of contexts.

10:00 AM ET / 15:00 GMT/ 16:00 CET
Break

10:05 AM ET / 15:05 GMT/ 16:05 CET
S1 Facilitated Sessions
Can E&C departments really work effectively as one unit?
Led by Paul Hockley Group Ethics & Compliance Officer Mott MacDonald
S2 Facilitated Sessions
The Ethics Design Sprint: Applying Design Thinking To Develop An Engaging Ethical Culture
Led by Carsten Tams, Ethicist and Author – Harvard University and Forbes Magazine

11:05 AM ET / 16:05 GMT/ 17:05 CET
Break

11:15 AM ET / 16:15 GMT/ 17:15 CET
S3 Facilitated Sessions
Lessons Learned: The Effect of the Remote Work Environment on E&C
Led by Alicia Olmstead, Global Ethics & Compliance Consultant, Dell Technologies Saubiya Kidwai, Senior Director, R&D Global Ethics & Compliance, GlaxoSmithKline
S4 Facilitated Sessions
How is an ethical culture monitored and measured? Is it different for different cultures?
Led by David Best Managing Director, EMEA Deputy Chief Operating Officer Morgan Stanley

12:15 PM ET / 17:15 GMT/ 18:15 CET
Break

12:20 PM ET / 17:20 GMT/18:20 CET
Sessions Wrap Up

12:50 PM ET / 17:50 GMT/ 18:50 CET
Virtual Reception / Networking

Wednesday 03 February 2021

8:00 AM ET / 13:00 GMT/ 14:00 CET
Meet & Greet

8:30 AM ET / 13:30 GMT/ 14:30 CET
Welcome & Housekeeping

8:45 AM ET / 13:45 GMT/ 14:45 CET
S5 Facilitated Sessions
Sustaining Ethical Values in Applied Artificial Intelligence
Led by Blair Marks Vice President, Ethics and Business Conduct – Lockheed Martin Corporation and Doug Dunham, Director of Ethics & Business Conduct – Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
S6 Facilitated Sessions
Corporate purpose and the role of business ethics
Led by Stéphanie Scouppe, Chief Ethics Officer Group – Aéroports de Paris

9:45 AM ET / 14:45 GMT/ 15:45 CET
Break

9:50 AM ET / 14:50 GMT/ 15:50 CET
S7 Facilitated Sessions
Innovations to make E&C training more effective
Led by Amanda Bunten, Director of Behavioural Ethics – GSK and Matt Rand, Behavioural Scientist – GSK
S8 Facilitated Sessions
How can I encourage my CEO and senior management to support the ethics programme?
Led by Nicole Sourgens Group Ethics & Compliance Officer Eramet

10:50 AM ET / 15:5o GMT/ 16:50 CET

Break

11:00 AM ET / 16:0o GMT/ 17:00 CET
P2: Plenary Session 
Why We Cannot Measure
Prof. Thomas Donaldson, Mark O. Winkelman Professor – Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
I have often seen the anguish of ethics and compliance professionals when their management asks: “How do we know that this works?” “How do we know it is worth the time and money?”.
The measurements that are used are generally inadequate in capturing real success, yet not measuring at all is self-defeating. Why, then, is it so difficult to measure the success of ethics and compliance initiatives?
Four barriers can be identified:
1. Faulty conceptual models;
2. Outdated interpretations of corporate purpose;
3. Digital and data inadequacies;
and 4. Legal barriers.
I will offer tentative suggestions for dealing with each of these.

12:00 PM ET / 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET
Break

12:05 PM ET / 17:05 GMT/ 18:05 CET
Speed Sharing

13:05 PM ET / 18:05 GMT/ 19:05 CET
Sessions Wrap Up

13:35 PM ET / 18:35 GMT/ 19:35 CET
Close

Thursday 04 February 2021

8:00 AM ET / 13:00 GMT/ 14:00 CET
Meet & Greet

8:30 AM ET / 13:30 GMT/ 14:30 CET
Welcome & Housekeeping

8:45 AM ET / 13:45 GMT/ 14:45 CET
P3: Plenary Session
Human rights in your supply chain: How to best deal with the different risks?
Estelle Gabillet, Deputy Ethics, Compliance & Privacy Officer – ENGIE, Nathalie Komatitsch, Head of Human Rights – TOTAL and Emmanuel Bloch, Chief CSR Officer – Thales
In a globalized economy, multinational companies are exposed to risks of human rights violations throughout their supply chain operations. Recommendation of the UN Global Compact which become a legal obligation in Great Britain and France, means that the management of the risk of human rights violations in the supply chain is becoming a subject of compliance in its own right. What methodology can be adopted to deal with this? How to work on this subject with the purchasing function? How to integrate it into an organisations’s CSR policy?

9:45 AM ET / 14:45 GMT/ 15:45 CET
Break

9:50 AM ET / 14:50 GMT/ 15:50 CET
S9 Facilitated Sessions
Screening tools – Screening results
Led by Benoit Mercier Global Compliance Officer – Dassault Systèmes
S10 Facilitated Sessions
Resolving issues raised when someone speaks up
Led by Andy Noble, Head of Whistleblowing Speak Up & Complaints Policy – NatWest Group, Simon Hood, Head of Litigation and Investigations, NatWest Group and Andy Smith Managing Investigator – NatWest Group

10:50 AM ET / 15:50 GMT/ 16:50 CET
Break

11:00 AM ET / 16:00 GMT/ 17:00 CET
S11 Facilitated Sessions
Developing an Effective Communications & Training Strategy with Business Partners
Led by Chiara Moscato Senior Director, E&C Europe, Sameta and South America – Eli Lilly and Company
S12 Facilitated Sessions
Ethics, Compliance and CSR – Friends or Foes?
Led by Gilles Vermot Desroches, Sustainability Senior Vice-President – Schneider Electric and Audrey Morin, Group Compliance Director – Schneider Electric

12:00 PM ET / 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET
Break

12:05 PM ET / 17:05 GMT/ 18:05 CET
Sessions Wrap Up

12:35 PM ET / 17:35 GMT/ 18:35 CET
Closing Address

13:00 PM ET / 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 CET
Close 

Breakout Session Summary 2021

The sessions below are for EBEF 2021 and are subject to change.

(subject to change)

Developing an Effective Communications & Training Strategy with Business Partners

Led by Chiara Moscato Senior Director, E&C Europe, Sameta and South America – Eli Lilly and Company
All compliance programs across companies are meant to sustain the business while making the right decision respecting the company integrity values. The way training is designed can have an impact on the program success and lead to better results. Using technology and a solutions-based approach can make a difference in training and in your internal partnership. During COVID-19 this type of communication strategy can impact onboarding of new employees resulting in a renewed energy in speaking about compliance. Learn how to have a more effective dialogue with business partners that encompasses ease, understanding and action in a creative way through technology.

The Ethics Design Sprint: Applying Design Thinking To Develop An Engaging Ethical Culture

Led by Carsten Tams, Ethicist and Author – Harvard University and Forbes Magazine
In this session, participants will learn about Design Thinking, an approach used by leading companies, from Apple to Lego, to create innovative products and services customers love to engage with. E&C practitioners can use this same approach to make their E&C programs more engaging and effective. This session will describe principles at the heart of Design Thinking (Human-Centered Design, Co-Creation) as well as the design process and key methods. Participants will also learn how they can use Design Sprints to quickly design a more engaging code, training module, or speak-up website. In an interactive exercise, participants will experience hands-on how they can apply this concept. Participants will leave the session with actionable ideas for developing a more engaging ethical culture.

Screening tools – Screening results

Led by Benoit Mercier, Global Compliance Officer – Dassault Systèmes
Software tools for due diligence have become indispensable in the exercise of the E&C function. Despite the significant help they provide, it is still sometimes difficult to know how to use them in the best possible way. Between false positives and alarming adverse media. How can you use these effectively?

How can I encourage my CEO and senior management to support the ethics programme?

Led by Nicole Sourgens, Group Ethics & Compliance Officer – Eramet
The support of top management, first and foremost the CEO, is necessary to ensure the effectiveness of any E&C program. In this respect, how to develop a relationship of trust with the CEO? How to make him or her an ally? How to determine how often and on what subjects to involve him/her without becoming intrusive?

Corporate purpose and the role of business ethics

Led by Stéphanie Scouppe, Chief Ethics Officer – Group Aéroports de Paris
Beyond CSR, the question of the corporate purpose of companies is being asked. It entails a change of paradigm but is still often difficult to see what the E&C role is. Where do the corporate values fit in? How else do they support the other functions?

Ethics, Compliance and CSR – Friends or Foes ?

Led by Gilles Vermot Desroches and Audrey Morin – Schneider Electric
In corporate organizational charts, ethics often is linked with compliance. Sometimes CSR is associated with them, other times not. However, regardless of the organization, it is clear that ethics, compliance and CSR have common objectives and methodologies. How can we make CSR more effective?

Lessons Learned: The Effect of the Remote Work Environment on E&C

Led by Alicia Olmstead, Global Ethics & Compliance Consultant – Dell Technologies and Saubiya Kidwai, Senior Director, R&D Global Ethics & Compliance – GlaxoSmithKline
The COVID-19 pandemic upended the ways in which we define “the workplace”. Almost a year later, we now have a better understanding of the impact of the shift to remote work on E&C programs and workplaces around the world. This session explores the impact of remote work on strategy, risk management, culture, speak-up climate and processes and accountability. How are today’s leading E&C programs addressing new risks that have emerged in the remote environment, such as cybersecurity, training and investigations?

Sustaining Ethical Values in Applied Artificial Intelligence

Led by Blair Marks, Vice President, Ethics and Business Conduct – Lockheed Martin Corporation and Doug Dunham, Director of Ethics & Business Conduct – Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
Artificial intelligence and machine learning are becoming widely embraced by organizations across nearly all industries. This session explores the ethical implications of artificial intelligence, the risks associated with its implementation and the principles you can embed to ensure ethical AI. We’ll also take a closer look at how Transparency, Business Strategy, Trust, Privacy, Security and Social Impact should be embedded into AI applications and processes at every stage of the product lifecycle in order to sustain the public’s trust in AI systems.

Innovations to make E&C training more effective

Led by Amanda Bunten, Director of Behavioural Ethics – GSK and Matt Rand, Behavioural Scientist – GSK
Training is a fundamental part of a successful ethics and compliance programme. But do we really know how effective our training is? Are there simple ways we could be improving our training? There has been quite a focus on how to engage the learner in ethics and compliance training but are we really designing training to effectively drive the ‘right’ behaviours in our organisations? There are now many examples of the ways in which E&C leaders are innovating their training, to the extent that some training interventions may not actually look or feel like formal training at all. But how do we ensure our training is both effective and engaging?

During this session we will explore how we can incorporate behavioural science into our learning journey, to design, implement and evaluate our training to demonstrate effectiveness.

Can E&C departments really work effectively as one unit?

Led by Paul Hockley, Group Ethics & Compliance Officer – Mott MacDonald
It’s commonly agreed that ethics begins where the law ends. However, the distinction is rarely this binary. The governance of ethics in organisations is a key and growing topic, and there is also a growing trend of Ethics and Compliance departments coming together as a single E&C function. But is this the best way to do it? Come and hear from Mott MacDonald in this session who will share their journey of getting board-level buy in for a combined E&C function and starting to build a function which seeks to promote the values of the organisation.

Resolving issues raised when someone speaks up

Led by Andy Noble, Head of Whistleblowing, Speak Up & Complaints Policy – NatWest Group and Andy Smith, Managing Investigator -Natwest Group
Speak up initiatives are proliferating and organisations are doing many good things to promote speak up cultures where employees (and others) feel free to voice their concerns about misconduct. The EU Whistleblowing Directive and other global legislations have also provided frameworks for organisations to consider the breadth and depth of their speak up arrangements and make sure they remain fit for purpose. But with the growing encouragement and mechanisms for raising and capturing concerns, are we still able to deal with them appropriately? Most people speak up not for the sake of speaking up, but to have the issue resolved. So how do we respond when issues are raised? And most importantly, how do we address the root causes to prevent them happening again?

In this session facilitators will start the conversation by sharing their thoughts and experience in three areas:
1. Scope of investigation: How far should you go in an investigation. Should you always investigate every element of the allegation? What part should proportionality play?
2. Interactions with the whistle blower: the issue of anonymity and building trust; how open can/should you be with a whistle blower? How much of the investigation outcome can/should you disclose?
3. Lessons learned: conduct and non-conduct outcomes; ‘read across’; creating the right environment – the importance of the cultural environment and psychological safety

How is an ethical culture monitored and measured? Is it different for different cultures?

Led by David Best, Managing Director, EMEA Deputy Chief Operating Officer – Morgan Stanley
How do you measure something as nebulous as culture, and in particular whether a culture is ethical or not? As culture relates to ‘the way things are done around here’, there is a wealth of data already available in pre-existing management information: quantitative data can be sourced from staff surveys, training completion rates, code download analytics, ‘Speak-up’ numbers, etc. Supportive qualitative information can also be sourced. A number of financial institutions in the UK have signed up to participating in an annual external, independent assessment of their culture through the Banking Standards Board. Join this session to hear how Morgan Stanley uses various data points, to triangulate data and gather deeper insights into the Firm’s culture in EMEA.